Open Competitions

Open Competitions

Bookings for our Open Competitions can be made through BRS at




2018 Winners

T O'Neill - R McGregor & S Wilkie winners

T O’Neill Winners – R McGregor & S Wilkie with Tommy Bolton

Trophy Winners  & £50 each – R McGregor & S Wilkie – Net 68

2nd – A Burt & C Hunter   £40 Each Net 68.4

3rd – A Woods & RT Rice £30 Each Net 69

4th – M Stevenson & C Hotchkiss £20 Each Net 69.2

5th – G Frankgate & S Frankgate £10 Each Net 69.4

Mixed Open winners Alison and Cameron McLellan
Alison & Cameron McLellan – HCP Winners Mixed Open


With 13 different golf clubs represented at the Gourock Mixed Open Competition, 92 players competed for the Robert and Marion Rice Trophy on Sunday 12th August 2018. The weather on the day was not as good as the forecast had been, so the players had to cope with damp and windy conditions, which was unfortunate, given the fabulous summer the West of Scotland has had this year.  However, because of the beautiful season so far, the course was playing well and the putting greens were still fast, and there was a happy ambience within the Clubhouse afterwards, over warm drinks and a well-cooked dinner. Hugh Logue and his team of Greenkeepers are to be congratulated for the conditions out on the course, and grateful thanks are extended to Ashleigh, Stephen and the Kitchen and Bar Staff, for keeping the players “fed and watered” so professionally throughout the day.

Gourock Golf Club would like to thank Tweetiepie Media for their generous sponsorship.  

Cameron and Alison McLellan of Greenock and Gourock Golf Clubs respectively, won the handicap prize and the trophy with a winning score of 71.4.  The Scratch prize was won by Alex Haggarty and Sarah Tryon, members at Buchanan Castle Golf Club and The Carrick, respectively, with a fine score of 88.

SCRATCH: Alex Haggarty, Buchanan Castle Golf Club, and Sarah Tryon, The Carrick Golf Club, 88 gross

HANDICAP WINNERS: Cameron McLellan, Greenock Golf Club, and Alison McLellan, Gourock Golf Club: 86 (14.6) 71.4

2nd PRIZE: John McWade and Morag Cowe, Gourock Golf Club, 89 (16.6) 72.4

3rd PRIZE: Malcolm and Moira Duncan, Gourock Golf Club, 89 (14.6) 74.4

4th PRIZE: Allan Warwick and Liz Rankin, Gourock Golf Club, 96 (20.6) 75.4

5th PRIZE: Mel McMillan, Gourock Golf Club, and Sheena Wallace, Gleddoch Golf Club, 92 (14) 78

6th PRIZE: Dougie Carmichael, Greenock Golf Club, and Margie Carmichael, Gourock Golf Club,        99 (19.6) 79.4


LADIES: Nearest the Pin at 4th: Sarah Tryon, The Carrick Golf Club: 0.7 metres

GENTS: Nearest the Pin at 7th: Malcolm Duncan, Gourock Golf Club: 2.03 metres

LADY or GENT: Nearest the Pin at 17th: Aileen Esler, Gourock Golf Club: 5.7 metres

ENDEAVOUR: John McColl and Anne Fawbert, Gourock Golf Club

HIDDEN HOLE: Alistair Samuel, Erskine Golf Club, and Joan Green, Gourock Golf Club

Alison McLellan – winner of Ladies Burgh Open trophy
Alison McLellan winner